Button-Poppin’ Proud


We look at the children God has given us

By birth, adoption or marriage

And we stand in awe

Thoughtful

Kind

Smart

God-honoring

People

Why were we chosen to love these?

How were we so blessed?

And where did the chubby hands and faces go?

The sibling rivalry?
(I sure don’t miss that)

The toothless grins and grubby feet?

Where did they go?

They now reside in tiny little bodies called

Grandchildren!

There’s nothing like your children crying out for Mama in the middle of a scary moment

And there is nothing like a grandchild squealing with delight when you walk into the room

Melts my heart

So

Now the kids are grown and have children of their own

What’s a Mama to do?

I love being Nana

But I’m still Mama

I want my children to know that I will ALWAYS be Mama

Even when they are old and grey

And I am older and purple 🙂

I want them to know that I will always be their biggest fan

The loudest cheerleader

The softest shoulder

And their greatest defender

I want them to know that I don’t say these things to make me sound like the Mother of the Year

I say them because

Forever and Always

I Love You

Leave a Reply

