WHAT’S Your Hurry?!


Confession

I am tired of Winter!

It’s cold

It’s dreary

It should be over

sigh

But all that aside

When I got up this morning and realized church was cancelled

Because of the ICE and SLEET

I grumbled

Loudly

I didn’t want to miss church

I didn’t want to miss the relevant Word that we would consume together

I wanted to see friends

Give hugs

Receive hugs

I didn’t want to be cooped up…again!

But then

I opened up the kitchen window curtains as I made breakfast

And there it was

Peace

Watching tiny flakes of snow swirling to the ground

Gave me a sense of Peace

And I stood there for a bit

And breathed

And smiled

And relaxed

Even tho I am tired of Winter

I  enjoyed those tranquil moments

My mind went immediately to an episode of Andy Griffith

The one where the traveling preacher “rushed” through town

His sermon of the day was “What’s Your Hurry”!

Slow down

Enjoy the journey

Relax in the peace and quiet

Take in a band concert

Make homemade ice cream

Enjoy some fresh baked cookies

Work a puzzle

Read a book

And

Watch out the window at the falling snow

Secure in the love of our heavenly Father

Find Peace in our circumstance

Spring WILL come

Winter won’t stay forever

Rest in that fact

Ecclesiastes 3:1-3

New Living Translation (NLT)

A Time for Everything

3 For everything there is a season,  a time for every activity under heaven.
2 A time to be born and a time to die. A time to plant and a time to harvest.
3 A time to kill and a time to heal. A time to tear down and a time to build up.

Leave a Reply

