But, She Has Purple Hair!


She walks into the room and wonders

Will they ignore me?

Will they laugh at me?

Will they reject me?

She goes to class and wonders

Will they like me?

Will they talk to me?

Will they snub me?

She walks into a church and wonders

Will they accept me?

Will they scorn me?

Will they hurt me?

Who is this she?

She is the woman next to you in line

She is your Mother

Your sister

Your teacher

Your supervisor

Your neighbor

Your friend

She is every woman reading this

How do I know?

Because

She is

Me

It doesn’t seem to matter how confident we may appear

Inside

We are little girls

Longing for acceptance

Friendship

Validation

Love

My challenge to each of us today is this

When you walk into that room or class or church

Remember

It is full of women just like you

Be the first to make eye contact

The first to speak

The first to share

The first to reach out

And see what a difference YOU can make

2 thoughts on “But, She Has Purple Hair!

  1. Marijo, you ARE that woman that makes others feel welcome and accepted and loved….thank you for being that kind of friend!

Leave a Reply

