Welcome Home Denise


A very dear friend of mine

Fought with all her might against an unseen enemy

cancer

Yellow bellied low life cancer

So many people I have loved

Have waged that same battle

Some have won

Most have not

Daddy, Mama, my sister Donna Rae

Multitudes of aunts, uncles, cousins and friends

But today

Right now

As I type these words

My friend is dancing and singing at the feet of Jesus

No more pain

No more suffering

With her beautiful smile

Shining eyes

And long lovely hair

Whole

Healthy

This is how I will remember you

A teenage girl who took the time to care about a gangly preteen

You made me feel special and loved

Even when it wasn’t popular to do so

You helped me see Jesus by your actions

And I’ll never forget your cool car

You even let me ride in it!

I remember a time you redecorated your room

I suspect you wanted to spend time hanging out in there without a tagalong

But you let me stay anyway

You were always so beautiful and I wanted to be just like you

I fixed my hair like yours

Tried to put my makeup on like yours

When you were on a diet

So was I

Now, you’ve beat me to Heaven

But I think you are just paving the way

I’ll see you soon my friend

Until then

We will not grieve as those who have no hope

Because we know that to be absent in the body is to be present with the Lord

2 thoughts on “Welcome Home Denise

  1. Thank you for sharing this beautiful eulogy, MJ. We’re blessed going in, and blessed going out. This kind of a friendship is another grand example.

Leave a Reply

