Don’t Get Caught Running on Empty


Earlier this week our electricity was out
It went off somewhere around midnight
In the morning when it was time to get going for the day
We still didn’t have electricity

Getting dressed in the dark
Fixing hair and makeup in the dark
None of this was fun

 I remembered we had an oil lamp that had once belonged to my mother
She passed away almost 2 years ago
I kept the lamp because I figured it would come in handy some day

Some day had arrived!

I brought the lamp into the room where we were getting ready
Quite proud that I had remembered it
I took off the glass shade
Turned up the wick
And lit it

Still proud
I put the shade back on and proceeded to bask in the light

That’s when it hit me
The odor from the burning wick and the flame
Just didn’t seem right

There was NO oil in the lamp

Who knew that oil would evaporate?
Certainly not me

This reminded me of the parable of the ten virgins

Five were wise
Their lamps were full of oil and the wicks were trimmed

Five were foolish
They had no oil in their lamps
Maybe they used all their oil
Or maybe it dried up

When they heard the bridegroom was coming
These five foolish girls wanted the wise ones to share their oil

Nothing doing!

The wise girls told the others
Go out and buy your own because we might not have enough for us if we share

While the foolish girls were at the local WalMart
The bridegroom arrived and those who were ready went to the wedding

The five foolish virgins missed out because they had not been taking care of business

Watch therefore, for you know neither the day nor the hour in which the Son of Man is coming

One thought on “Don’t Get Caught Running on Empty

Leave a Reply

