But, First!


I’ve got a case of the “But, First’s”

Example:

 I decided to make Pumpkin Scones again

But, First!

I need to clean the kitchen

Ok, start by doing the dishes

But, First!

I must empty the dishwasher

Now, load dishwasher

But, First!

I need to scrub that dishwasher out

How could it possibly clean our dishes

One hour later

Dishwasher clean and loaded

 I also wanted to make a loaf of artisan bread

Found the recipe on Pinterest.com

Looks great!

Looks easy!

But, First!

I need a 5 quart container to hold the dough in

Sigh

Then I remember that I have Mt Laundrymore waiting for me

But, First!

I need to clean the washer

After all, the dishwasher is now sparkly and I don’t want my other major appliance to get jealous

One hour later

Washer clean, sparkly and loaded

Then I notice the floor needs swept

But, First!

I need to take the rugs out for a beating

Sweep the floor

All ready for the freshly shaken rugs

But, First!

Those same rugs really could stand a washing

But, First!

I need to empty the washer of a previous load

But, First!

I need to empty the dryer of a previous load

But, First!

I need to fold the towels that are in the basket

Very soon those rugs will be washed and dried

I just know it!

Now the carpet needs vacuumed

But, First!

I need to clean the filters

But, Wait!

I did that after I vacuumed the last time!

Whew!

I might make those scones yet!

3 thoughts on “But, First!

  1. Man, oh, man! This happens to me all the time. When I really want to do something different, I get the “But, First” syndrome. For example, I want to work on an idea for a new design, but first, so I won’t feel guilty about taking time for something “frivolous”, I need to clean the kitchen, clear off that kitchen island that catches everything, clean the bathroom and run the sweeper. Of course, by the time I’ve done all that, the day is gone and I make a note of the idea to do some other day. But, hey, at least my apartment is clean now!!! Maybe tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

