Living With the Invisible


My friend posted a link the other day that caught my eye

www.butyoudontlooksick.com

Very good analogy of living with an illness that is hard to detect

I, too, live with a disease that most of the time cannot be seen

I live with the invisible

Although I cannot see it

I always know it’s there

The day that combing my hair takes every bit of strength I can muster

The time that climbing just one more step seems impossible

The vision that decides to double up

Or when it rears its ugliness by robbing me of my voice

or causing me to choke on water

Years of doctor visits and countless tests finally brought a name to my invisible

Myasthenia Gravis

At least now I could rest knowing that I wasn’t crazy

even though more than one physician told me it was “all in my head”

Because of these short-sighted doctors I learned to speak up for myself

Let it be known that I know me and it would be a good idea for the one practicing medicine

to listen to the one who lives in this body!

I am now in a Medicinally induced remission

Fancy term for

Medicine Keeps the Illness Under Wraps

But miss a few days of medication and that which was hidden will be revealed

I will always try to keep up but on the days that I can’t

Please remember

Even if you can not see it

The invisible has built a wall that I’m trying to scale

And it may just be impossible for this moment

One thought on “Living With the Invisible

  1. I just love the “SPOON THEORY”! I ,also love to share it with others when trying to explain to what a day in my body can be like..
    Thanks for sharing a tiny bit of your story, Marijo. It helps those of us who also have “invisible illnesses” to feel less lonely and know that there are many others in the same boat. I can so relate to being relieved when there finally comes a diagnosis! Doctors are just so uneducated on illnesses such as these…it’s so frustrating that they don’t listen and want to just stuff us in a neat little tidy box…the box with the label that reads “iI’s all in your head”. By sharing our stories, I’m hopeful that those who don’t suffer from “invisible illnesses” would have a little more understanding of what it’s like to live behind these walls of “invisible illness”.
    I’m thankful that you are in remission, as I am as well. It’s such a great place to rest..if only for a little while. I’m thankful for the medications that are now available for these autoimmune diseases so that we may enjoy our “medically induced remissions”. I’m thankful for our Heavenly Father who already sees when the next “flair” is coming…and he has it under control, especially in those times when we feel we have no control. I pray for more education and a cure for these diseases!
    Be blessed, sweet friend.

Leave a Reply

