I’m Gonna Be Infamous


There’s a song my mom used to sing to me a long time ago:

What are little boys made of my love
What are little boys made of
Snakes and snails and puppy dog tails
That’s what little boys are made of

What are little girls made of my love
What are little girls made of
Sugar and spice and everything nice
That’s what little girls are made of

What are old bachelors made of my love
What are old bachelors made of
Nickels and dimes and bald heads that shine
That’s what old bachelors are made of

What are old maids made of my love
What are old maids made of
Powder and paint to make ’em look what they ain’t
That’s what old maids are made of

That song always made me smile. I went around testing the theory behind the song and rarely did the bald headed bachelors that I knew have any money they were willing to share. I guess I always figured they spent their money on hair products.
The old maids that I knew, which were only a few, didn’t use enough powder and paint as far as I was concerned!
In my opinion, little boys were made of snakes and snails and even a few puppy dog tails, so I decided there was plenty of truth in that line.
Of course, as a little girl, I thought how wonderful it was to be made of sugar and spice and I just KNEW that was true.

But I think the song needs a couple more verses. One about moms and dads and maybe one about siblings.
They might go something like this:

What are good parents made of my love
What are good parents made of
Courage and love that comes from above
That’s what good parents are made of

What are good siblings made of my love
What are good siblings made of
Teasing and taunts so they can get what they want
That’s what good siblings are made of

So these are my additions. Do you have some of your own? Please add them in the comments. I would really like to see how the minds of others work!

For Norita:

What are big brothers made of my love
What are big brothers made of
Burliness and a shove to protect the sister they love
That’s what big brothers are made of

For Toma:

What are grandboys made of my love
What are grandboys made of
Giggles and grins and cute double chins
That’s what grandboys are made of

2 thoughts on “I’m Gonna Be Infamous

  1. I never heard the verses about the bachelors and old maids but it does sound like Miss Jo. She always made me laugh. I like the parents verse but my brothers were very protective of me – the only girl. We have to come up with a verse about big, strong older brothers who protect their little sister.

  2. What are grandsons made of my love
    What are grandsons made of
    Hugs and smiles and questions by the piles
    That’s what grandsons are made of

Leave a Reply

